Skip to content Skip to footer

Grief and loss

What is Grief and Loss?

Grief is the natural response to a loss. Losing someone or something you love can be extremely difficult and evoke a range of emotions such as anger, shock, guilt and sadness. These emotions are normal and part of the grieving process. There are five stages of grief that were formulated by Kubler-Ross which are: Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression and Acceptance

Grief & Loss may be felt when

  • Someone close to you passes away
  • Loss of a job
  • Loss of your health
  • Death of a pet
  • A relationship breakup or loss of a friendship

Responses to Grief & Loss may include


Difficulty sleeping, feelings of nausea, sweating, headaches, shaking or trembling, extreme tiredness


Slowed thinking, difficulty concentrating, difficulties with problem solving and decision making, thinking a lot about the incident or the person who has died


Anxiety/worry, sadness, fear, loss of motivation, anger, irritability, guilt, or feeling nothing at all (numb or blank)

What you can do

Allow yourself to grieve and feel the different range of emotions.

Acknowledge that your feelings will be up and down and that what you are experiencing is normal and part of the grieving process.

Talk to someone about how you are feeling – friends, family, a Counsellor.

Take care of yourself – even though it may be difficult it’s extremely important that you look after your physical and emotional needs – monitor your eating and sleeping patterns and practice self-care (relaxation techniques, doing something you enjoy)

How we can help

There is no right or wrong way to grieve but there are ways to cope with the pain. Some kinds of reactions occur straight away, others may not appear for days or weeks.

Contact us to make an appointment with one of our clinicians who will be able to guide you through the process.